Creepy is in the Eye of the Beholder

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Creepy.”

What do you think? Funny or creepy?
What do you think? Funny or creepy?

Browsing through the local antique mall one day, I came across these constipated little guys. They were about 10 inches tall and made me laugh. I had to snap a photo with my phone. They made enough of an impression on me that I went back the next weekend to buy one or both. I don’t know why exactly – I guess I thought they’d be a goofy conversation piece.   Imagine my surprise when I found that they had already been sold! They were obviously antiques; maybe they were valuable.

Anyway, as time went on, I would occasionally come across them when scrolling through my photos. I still think they are hilarious, but I also realized that they’re really kind of creepy.

Who made them?

Why?

What on earth could their purpose have been?

I realize now that if I had bought them, they’d be grimacing down at me from my mantel.

Are they funny or creepy?  I can’t decide…

24 thoughts on “Creepy is in the Eye of the Beholder

  1. I totally have to go with funny. I’m sorry. I know I’m a bit warped, and I seriously wonder what on Earth the artist (do we call that art?) was thinking, but I laughed so hysterically when I saw that photo that I nearly cried! Oh dear.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The jury’s still out for me….my first reaction was to laugh and say WTH?!?! Who in their right mind would come up with that and what else have they done?!?!? lol. But looking at their cringing faces…I can see a creepiness there..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think at first glance they are funny especially looking at the facial expression of the kid on the right side but it kind of creepy when you think about how the artist come up with that imagining he is watching the kids doing that while creating that art!

    Like

Leave a comment